I Became a Lebanese Expat

“Every accomplishment starts with the decision to try” -John F. Kennedy

There is a peculiar feeling that comes with leaving your country and your life. Put aside the fact that you will miss your friends and family; you will also miss the person you are now, in this exact time, because you will never be this way ever again.

My determination to leave Lebanon was not easy; just the thought of not waking up to my mum’s face, not meeting my dad for lunch, not cuddling with my Pekingese Bruna, not fighting with my brother and not seeing my best friend Natalia brought me relentless melancholy. In my head, I knew that leaving was my only option for any sort of future but in my heart I wondered if that sacrifice was worth all the anguish.

As an Opera singer, Lebanon is undeniably the wrong country to cherish and support my art; it is a country that praises scrawny entertainers; it is a country that breeds animosity between musicians; it is a country that expects you to perform for free in order to gain “recognition” and it is a country that allows the snob (gens sans noblesse) to open “music” schools when they have unquestionably no background in music and abuse this exquisite art by turning it into a VIP business.

To say that I was forced to leave my country is an understatement; yes I was not forced to leave because of war, I was not forced to leave because of financial reasons (thank God), I was not forced to leave for health reasons; but I was forced to leave in order to grow, I was forced to leave so I could have a chance of making something out of myself, I was forced to leave so I could build my future and my career. Lebanon forced me to leave because there is no place for me in a community of abydocomists.

On the 4th of June 2017, I carried my life along with my one way ticket, pointed my compass towards a bright future and left. Dear Middle-East, thanks for all the lessons. Dear Europe, I’m ready!

“Education is the passport to the future, for tomorrow belongs to those who prepare for it today” -Malcolm X

Leave a Reply

